Boards & Commissions

Home / Town Government / Boards & Commissions

Boards and Commissions

Planning Commission


The Planning Commission has the power to develop a master plan for the future growth of the city, to regulate the subdivision of lands and to recommend zoning laws to the municipal governing body.  The commission consists of nine members with one being the mayor, an administrative officer of the municipality chosen by the mayor, one member of the council chosen by the council, and the remaining six members chosen by the mayor. Meetings are held on the fourth Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m.


Chairperson Woody Woodard

Vice Chairperson

Mayor Vaughn Goodwin

Council Member Gordon Burden

Building Inspector Gary Bayne

Susan Ledbetter

Lainie Alexander

Chris Lemley

Casey Willis


For more information, contact the City Clerk, Barbara Jones at (256) 353-2474 extension 5.



Zoning Board of Adjustments & Appeals

The Zoning Board of Adjustments and Appeals is an independent, quasi-judicial body.  It is empowered to grant relief from the strict applications of the Zoning Regulations (variances), approve certain uses of land (special exceptions), and hear appeals of actions taken by the Zoning Administrator.  The Board’s five members and two supernumeraries are appointed by the City Council. Meetings are held as needed and set by the Zoning Board of Adjustments Chairman.

Click here for more info

Industrial Development Board

Administers Industrial Parks and acquiring new Industry for Trinity